Symbols of Ekaterinburg

       
 First plant's seal     1783 emblem     1973 emblem of Sverdlovsk

Originally, Ekaterinburg was designed and built as the capital of the mining area; it had its own symbols from the first years of existence. The earliest symbol of the Ural capital represented a wheel on the first seal of Ekaterinburg plant.

The official emblem of Ekaterinburg was approved by Catherine II on July 17, 1783. That year Ekaterinburg received the status of the chief town of an uyezd, a territory division of Perm province. The emblem of  Ekaterinburg had the following design: “On the upper field of the shield there is the emblem of Perm, on the lower field, in green, there is a silver smelter and a shaft”. 13 more emblems were approved along with Ekaterinburg’s, including that of Perm. All of them were performed in the same colour range. According to the tradition, uyezd emblems were halved. In the red upper field there was a silver bear with a book of Gospel on its back and the silver cross above them.

In 1924 Ekaterinburg was renamed Sverdlovsk after one of the Bolshevik leaders. In 1973 Sverdlovsk received its new emblem: dark-red perimeter of the wall of Ekaterinburg fortified plant in the centre of the silver field with a gear on it; upside down comes the blue ribbon (the Iset river) crossing the fortress perimeter. A stylized atom image is at the top of the pillar. On the left there is a rampant sable (mark of the Demidovs' plants) looking to its right, and on the right there is a lizard (symbol of Pavel Bazhov’s fairy-tales) looking to its left.

City's emblem

In September, 1991 the city regained its historical name of Ekaterinburg. In 1995 the present emblem of Ekaterinburg was officially adopted in the State herald’s office under the President of the Russian Federation. The upper part resembles the fortress which Ekaterinburg used to be in its early days. The wavy sky-blue ribbon In the lower part is the Iset river connecting the past and the present, Europe and Asia. A bear symbolizing the European part of Russia and a sable Its Asian counterpart - hold the shield. A sable, moreover, used to be the Ural metal brand under the Demidovs. Both animals are rampant on each side of the shield, their teeth and tongues are stuck out. They are so aggressive because they guard the city. At the bottom the shield is decorated with a druse implying the scietific potential of the city and mineral resources of the Urals,In 2008 the emblem received a new element, a crown With five castellations resembling a fortress tower.

City's Flag

Since 2008 Ekaterinburg has its own flag. On June 24, 2008 it was approved and included in the State heraldic register of the Russian Federation. According to heraldry rules the flag symbols have to reproduce those of an emblem of the city of Ekaterinburg. Pictures of the shaft and the smelter symbolise Ekaterinburg, the industrial city with high scientific and cultural potential. Emerald green is the historic color of the Urals. The yellow strip symbolizes the Ural mountains connecting Europe and Asia, their beauty, grandeur and mineral wealth. The blue strip in the flag’s lower part is the Iset. Also, blue and yellow strips symbolize Europe and Asia and emphasize the unique location of Ekaterinburg on the junction of two parts of the world.

Символика Екатеринбурга

     


 

     
Первая заводская печать       Герб Екатеринбурга 1783 года       Эмблема  Свердловска 1973 года

Екатеринбург изначально был задуман и возводился как столица горнозаводского края и с пер­вых же лет существования имел свою символику. Самым ранним символом уральской столицы было изображение колеса на первой печати Екатеринбургского завода.

Официальный екатеринбургский герб был утверждён Екатериной II 17 июля 1783 года. В 1783 году Екатеринбург стал уездным городом Пермского наместничества. Герб Екатеринбурга имел следующий вид: «В верхнем поле щита — герб Пермский; в нижнем — в зелёном поле — сере­бряная плавильная печь и рудокопная шахта». Вместе с екатеринбургским были утверждены ещё 13 гербов городов Пермского наместничества, в том числе и города Перми. Все они объединены единой цветовой гаммой. По традиции уездные гербы были рассечены пополам. В верхнем крас­ном поле серебряный медведь, на спине которого поставлено Евангелие в золотом окладе и над ними серебряный крест.

В1924 году Екатеринбург переименовали в Свердловск в честь одного из лидеров партии боль­шевиков. В 1973 году у Свердловска появилась своя эмблема: в серебряном поле в центре червлё­ный периметр стены крепости Екатеринбургского завода; на ней шестерёнка, сверху вниз — синяя полоса (река Исеть), проходящая через периметр крепости. Вверху на столбе стилизованное изо­бражение мирного атома. Слева изображён восстающий соболь, смотрящий вправо (клеймо за­водов Демидова), а справа — ящерица, смотрящая влево (символизирующая сказы П. П. Бажова).

Герб Екатеринбурга

 В сентябре 1991 года Свердловску было возвращено историческое имя — Екатеринбург. Современный герб Екатеринбурга был официально принят в Государственной герольдии при президенте Российской Федерации в 1995 году. Верхняя часть щита похожа на  крепость, которой был Екатеринбург в первые годы своего существования.  Волнистая полоса в нижней части — это река Исеть, соединяющая историю и современность, Европу и Азию. Фигуры щитодержателей — медведь символизирующий европейскую часть России, и соболь, символизирующий лее того, соболь ещё при Демидовых был маркой уральского металла. Животные стоят за пределами щита, высунув языки и оскалив зубы, такое проявление агрессивности вполне объяснимо, так как они охраняют город. Внизу щит украшен друзой,указывающий на научный потенциал города и минеральные богатства Урала. В 2008 году в герб был внесён новый элемент —  статусная корона в виде крепостной башни с пятью зубцами. 

Флаг Екатеринбурга

С 2008 года Екатеринбург имеет свой флаг, 24 июня 2008 года был утверждён и внесён в Государственный геральдический регистр Российской Федерации. По правилам геральдики символика флага обязательно должна воспроизводить символику герба муниципального образования «го­род Екатеринбург». Изображения рудокопной шахты и плавильной печи — символ Екатеринбурга, промышленно развитого города с вы­соким научно-техническим и культурным потенциалом. Изумрудная зе­лень — исторический территориальный цвет Урала. Жёлтая полоса флага символизирует Уральские горы, соединившие Европу и Азию, их красоту, величие, богатство их недр. Синяя полоса в нижней части флага — это река Исеть. Полосы синего и жёлтого цветов символизируют Европу и Азию соот­ветственно и подчеркивают уникальное географическое положение Екатерин­бурга — на границе двух частей света.