WOMEN’S GYMNASIUM BUILDING NAMED AFTER ALEXEY

A building of the Ural State Mining University (building of the second Women’s Gymnasium named after Alexey). The question concerning the second women’s gymnasium in Ekaterinburg was raised in city administration in 1897.

In 1903 the gymnasium was opened but the students temporary stationed at the building of the secondary school dormitory. To construct a new building the board of regents was set up which had to do with a land purchase and a permission to build a made-to-order house. In 1910 St. Petersburg architect community introduced conditions for the project competition and the same year they got three prize-winning plans. The projects were investigated by Ekaterinburg architects and the plan called “Vesna” (Spring) was approved. The author is not known.

In January, 1913 the gymnasium moved to their new building from the secondary school dormitory. In 1917 the Mining University was opened in Ekaterinburg which consequently occupied the gymnasium building.

Among the Mining University students are participants of the Great Patriotic War who got the title of Hero of the Soviet Union – Bogatov P.A., Krutoshinsky A.M., Kudryavitsky D.A., Oprokidnev B.K., Yakimov A.P. Graduates and teachers of the University – Honored Scientists and Engineers – have their names on the memorial plates which are located on the northern façade of the building.

The Ural State Mining University (the building of the second women’s gymnasium named after Alexey) is situated on the corner of Khokhryakova Street (former Tikhvinskaya) and Kuybysheva Street (former Sibersky prospect). The area from the north and from the west is limited by a forged metal fence, 230 meters long in which openwork decorative elements interchange with round cast-iron columns, with spheres on the top of tailored basements.  

The building is an intricate complex of three-storey buildings connected between each other. They include administrative and teaching blocks, a church, a dormitory and several later constructions.

It is an example of an educational establishment built according to principles of late modernism and is distinguished by functional design completeness which contributed to the harmonious overall view.

INTERESTING FACT

In some places fragments of original interior are left, like built-in furniture and wall-mounted mirrors implemented in “modern” stylistics. The stairs are protected by forged bar screesns.

Address
Kuybysheva St.30
Telephone
-

Здание Алексеевской женской гимназии

Здание Уральского государственного горного университета (здание Алексеевской второй женской гимназии). Вопрос об организации второй женской гимназии в Екатеринбурге был поднят в городской управе в 1897 году.

В 1903 году гимназию открыли, временно разместив учащихся в здании общежития реального училища. Для строительства нового здания учредили попечительский совет, который занялся приобретением участка и добился разрешения на строительство здания по индивидуальному проекту. В 1910 году Петербургское общество архитекторов представило условия конкурса на проект, и в этом же году получили три премированных плана. Проекты рассматривали архитекторы Екатеринбурга и одобрили план под девизом «Весна». Автора этого проекта установить не удалось.

В январе 1913 года гимназия из реального училища переехала в новое здание. В 1917 году в Екатеринбурге был открыт Горный институт, который занял здание гимназии.

Среди студентов Горного института участники Великой Отечественной войны, получившие звание Героя Советского Союза, — П.А. Богатов, A.M. Крутошинский, Д.А. Кудрявицкий, Б.К. Опрокиднев, А.П. Якимов. Выпускникам и преподавателям института — выдающимся деятелям науки и техники — посвящены мемориальные доски, помещенные на северном фасаде здания.

Уральский государственный горный университет (здание Алексеевской второй женской гимназии) находится на углу улиц Хохрякова (бывшая Тихвинская) и Куйбышева (бывший Сибирский проспект). Участок с севера и запада обнесен кованой металлической оградой, длиной 230 м, в которой ажурные прясла чередуются с круглыми чугунными столбиками, завершенными шарами на профилированных основаниях.

Здание представляет собой сложный комплекс трехэтажных корпусов, соединенных между собой. В него входят административный и учебный корпуса, церковь, общежитие и более поздние пристройки.

В оформлении здания использованы декоративные формы позднего «модерна» в виде лопаток, тяг, карнизов, ниш, варьирующих четырехугольники и окружности. В духе позднего модерна выполнены прямоугольные и арочные оконные обрамления, парапеты, столбики, венчающие стены на уровне крыш.

Образец учебного сооружения, выполненного на принципах позднего модерна, отличается полнотой функциональной разработки, определившей гармоничное решение архитектурных форм.

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЙ ФАКТ

Местами сохранились такие фрагменты первоначальных интерьеров, как стенные шкафы и пристенные зеркала, оформленные в стилистике модерна. Размещенные здесь лестницы ограждены кованой решеткой, набранной из прутка.

Литература:
Свод памятников истории и культуры Свердловской области. Том 1. Екатеринбург: Сократ, 2007; ISBN — 978-5-88664-313-3

Адрес
Ул. Куйбышева, 30
Телефон
-