HEAD MINING DIRECTOR’S HOUSE

Designed in the first half of the 19th century by M. P. Malakhov this house served as a personal residence of the Head Mining Director of the Ural ridge plants.

Architect M. P. Malakhov designed and built this residential house for Perm mining inspector Bulgakov in 1817. In the early 1830s it was purchased by the government and rebuilt for Head Mining Director’s residence.

The residence was a large estate with utility yard to the north and garden to the south. Its first owner was general Vladimir Glinka, a distant relative of the famous composer. He held the office for about 20 years (1837-1856), longer than any of his predecessors or successors. Being practically in charge of the entire Urals region, Glinka was fond of saying: "I am God and the tsar of the Ural mountain ridge!" General was a charismatic person, extremely active in office, he is remembered for his good deeds, honesty, and reputation that remained unstained despite his immense power.

After 1857 the residence was passed on to F. I. Felkner, then to A. A. Issa, and other Head Mining Directors after them. In 1930 the building underwent significant reconstruction.

INTERESTING FACT

The residence had a magnificent ballroom and luxury guest apartments, high rank officials and famous people often chose to stay here during their visits to Ekaterinburg. In 1837 the Crown Prince, future Emperor Alexander II stayed here with his mentor – poet Vasily Zhukovsky – while visiting Ekaterinburg.

Address
Rabochey Molodyozhi Riverfront, 3
Telephone
-

Дом Главного начальника горных заводов

Возведённый в первой половине XIX века по проекту М. П. Малахова, этот дом служил личной резиденцией Главного начальника горных заводов хребта уральского.

Проектирование и строительство жилого дома для пермского берг-инспектора Булгакова с 1817 года вёл архитектор М. П. Малахов. В начале 1830-х годов дом был выкуплен казной для резиденции Главного горного начальника и перестроен.

Резиденция являлась большой усадьбой с хозяйственным двором с севера и садом с юга. Первым её хозяином был генерал Владимир Андреевич Глинка, дальний родственник знаменитого композитора. Пост главного начальника он занимал почти двадцать лет (с 1837 по 1856 год) — дольше, чем кто-либо из его предшественников и преемников. Будучи фактическим хозяином Урала, он любил говаривать: «Я царь и бог Уральского хребта!» Генерал был личностью необычайно деятельной, яркой и оставил о себе добрую память своими делами и безупречной честностью.

После 1857 года хозяином резиденции стал Ф. И. Фелькнер, потом А. А. Иосса и все последующие горные начальники. В 1930 году здание подверглось существенной перестройке.

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЙ ФАКТ

В резиденции имелся великолепный бальный зал и роскошные апартаменты для гостей, здесь неоднократно гостили приезжавшие в город знаменитости. Именно здесь в 1837 году во время визита в Екатеринбург останавливался наследник престола, будущий император Александр II со своим наставником, поэтом В. А. Жуковским.

Адрес
наб. Рабочей молодёжи, 3
Телефон
-