OPERA AND BALLET THEATRE

Ekaterinburg Opera and Ballet Theatre is one of the oldest in Russia. The theatre construction (based on the design by V. N. Semenov from Saint Petersburg who won the all-Russian open contest) began in 1903 and was led by local architect K. T. Babykin. The grand opening was held on September 12, 1912 – Glinka’s opera “A Life for the Tsar” was staged. Riccardo Drigo’s "The Magic Flute" became the first ballet production of a new theater in 1914.

Schedule

Ave. Lenina 46 а
mon-sun 10:00 - 20:00
the ticket price: 150 r. - 1500 r.

Available for the persons with limited mobility

A monument to Paris Communards (a pyramidal wooden stele covered with gypsum bas-reliefs devoted to the Paris Commune scenes) was installed in 1919 in the small park in front of the Opera Theater. In 1927 the ramshackle stele was demolished and the monument to Yakov Sverdlov by Leningrad sculptor M. Kharlamov was installed there instead.

In Soviet times Sverdlovsk Opera and Ballet Theater became one of the best in the country. In 1966 it received the status of an academic theater; it was awarded with USSR state awards twice. Alexander Pirogov, Fatima Mukhtarova, Sergey Lemeshev, Ivan Kozlovskiy, Feodor Chaliapin, Irina Arkhipova, Yuriy Gulyaev, Boris Shtokolov and other opera celebrities sang on its stage. Today Opera and Ballet Theater is one of the brightest landmarks in Ekaterinburg.

INTERESTING FACT

In the 19th century the square the theater is currently located on (or rather a large wasteland back then) was called Drovyanaya (Firewood) square: there was a wood market. In 1896 a wooden circus was built here; it demonstrated dramatic and cinema performances along with traditional circus shows. After the monument to Paris Communards was installed here in 1919, the square received its modern name – Paris Commune Square.

Address
Ave. Lenina, 46a
Telephone
+7 (343) 350-20-55

Театр оперы и балета

Городской театр оперы и балета построен по проекту В. Н. Семёнова. Театр открылся 12 сентября 1912 года оперой М. И. Глинки «Жизнь за царя».

Екатеринбургский театр оперы и балета — один из старейших в России. Здание театра начало стоиться в 1903 году екатеринбургским архитектором К. Т. Бабыкиным по проекту петербургского архитектора В. Н. Семёнова, выигравшего открытый всероссийский конкурс. 12 сентября 1912 года состоялось торжественное открытие – давали оперу М.И. Глинки «Жизнь за царя». Первой балетной постановкой нового театра в 1914 году стало произведение Риккардо Дриго «Волшебная флейта».

В 1919 году в сквере напротив Оперного театра был установлен памятник парижским коммунарам — пирамидальная деревянная стела, покрытая гипсовыми барельефами на темы Парижской Коммуны. В 1927 году обветшавшую стелу разобрали, а на её месте поставили памятник Якову Свердлову работы ленинградского скульптора М.Я. Харламова.

В советское время Свердловский театр оперы и балета стал одним из лучших в стране. В 1966 году получил статус академического. Дважды театр удостаивался государственных премий СССР. Здесь пели Александр Пирогов, Фатьма Мухтарова, Сергей Лемешев, Иван Козловский, Ирина Архипова, Юрий Гуляев, Борис Штоколов и многие другие. Сегодня Театр оперы и балета – достопримечательность столичного уровня, одна из ярких достопримечательностей Екатеринбурга.

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЙ ФАКТ

Площадь, на которой располагается Театр оперы и балета, в XIX веке называлась Дровяной: здесь торговали дровами. Затем в 1896 году выстроили деревянный цирк, где наряду с цирковыми представлениями ставили драматические спектакли, а позже показывали кино. После установки в 1919 году памятника парижским коммунарам площадь получила новое название – площадь Парижской коммуны.

 

Адрес
пр. Ленина, 46а
Телефон
-