BUSINESS HOUSE (PROMBANK BUILDING)

Constructed in 1926-1928, architect I. S. Guryev-Gurevich.

In the 19th century this site was occupied by a one-storey classicist building – a large merchant court that stood here for over a century and eventually burnt down during a fire in 1902. The construction of a new one in Art Nouveau style was never finished because of WWI the Revolution. However, its already built part was used in 1926-1928 when Prombank Business-house was being constructed.

Many administrative buildings projects of the future Greater Sverdlovsk were obtained through nationwide competitions. The first one of those was held in 1925 for Prombank Business-house design. Architects from the Urals and Moscow participated. The winner project by architect I. S. Guryev-Gurevich was later implemented by engineer I. N. Krysov.

Prombank building is L-shaped with a rounded corner of a longer portion. Its facades are opened to 8 Marta Street and Teatralny Lane. The main entrance to Prombank was designed in a corner niche of a high ground floor and is highlighted by a tall peak balcony located on the four pillars frame, with a stairs built in between. The composition of the facades is dominated by horizontal elements: floor lines, cornices, parapets, which together with the soft plastic of the rounded corner add an expressive nuance to the overall constructivist appearance of the building.

INTERESTING FACT

The building was designed and constructed for a bank, but was passed on to other establishments after it was finished. For many years it was occupied by a famous children’s clothing and school items store “Leopold” well known to all locals.

Address
St. March 8, 8"B"
Telephone
-

Деловой дом (здание Промбанка)

Здание построено в 1926-1928 гг. по проекту архитектора И. С. Гурьева-Гуревича.

В XIX веке на этом месте находилось одноэтажное здание в духе классицизма — Гостиный двор. Он простоял больше века и сгорел во время пожара в 1902 году. Гостиный двор начали отстраивать заново в стиле модерн, но помешала Первая мировая война, а затем революция. Позднее уже отстроенная часть нового здания была использована при возведении в 1926–1928 годах делового дома для Промбанка.

Многие проекты административных зданий будущего Большого Свердловска разрабатывались в рамках всесоюзных конкурсов. Первый из них был проведён в 1925 году на здание Промбанка. В конкурсе участвовали уральские и московские зодчие. Победивший проект архитектора И. С. Гурьева-Гуревича был реализован под руководством инженера И. Н. Крысова.

Здание Промбанка имеет в плане Г-образную форму с закруглением протяжённого объёма в угловой части. Фасадами оно обращено на улицу 8 Марта и Театральный переулок. Главный вход в Промбанк был запроектирован в угловой нише высокого первого этажа и выделен на фасаде высоким балконом-козырьком, расположенным на четырёх колоннах каркаса, между которыми встроена высокая лестница. В композиции фасадов здания преобладают горизонтальные элементы: междуэтажные перекрытия, карнизы, парапеты, которые вместе с мягкой пластикой закруглённой угловой части привносят экспрессивный оттенок в конструктивистский облик сооружения.

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЙ ФАКТ

Здание проектировалось и строилось как банк, но по окончании строительства было передано другим учреждениям. Многие годы здесь располагался знаменитый магазин детской одежды и школьных товаров «Леопольд», известный каждому свердловчанину.

Адрес
пр. 8 Марта, 8"Б"
Телефон
-