EKATERINBURG CITY ADMINISTRATION

The city hall was built in 1928-1954, architects G. A. Golubev and M. V. Reisher.

The site of the City Administration used to be occupied by a large merchant court that burnt down in 1902. The construction of a new one was never finished because of the Revolution. However, its already built part was used in 1926-1928 when Prombank Business-house was being constructed. This building today adjoins the main City Administration building at 8 Marta Street side.

In 1928-1930 the five-storey city hall building was finished. The first version was designed in constructivist style – architecturally ponderous, with extremely large windows. Authors of the project, architects Golubev and Reisher were staunch advocates of this new trend at the time. Starting in 1944 the city hall underwent a massive reconstruction with columns added to the façade, granite coating to the ground part, and M. D. Novakovsky’s sculptures (representing labor occupations) installed along the roof perimeter. A tower with a spire and chimes designed by Reisher was constructed in 1954. As a result, the city hall acquired its current image characteristic of the Stalin era “neoclassicism”, known for such structures as famous high-risers in Moscow, for example.

During the Soviet era the building was occupied by the city committee of the Communist Party and the City Council. Since 1991 it houses Ekaterinburg City Administration and Ekaterinburg Municipal Duma.

INTERESTING FACT

They say the sample clock mechanism for the city hall was brought from Germany by marshal Georgiy Zhukov. Local engineers used it as an example to build their own clock that was later put up at Ekaterinburg’s clock tower. The mechanism installed nearly 60 years ago never failed.

The main clock of Ekaterinburg is the largest in the Urals. Its dial plate diameter is 3.5 meters, with hour hand 1.5 and minute 2 meters long. Prior to 2005, the city clock was wound up twice a week, which took considerable effort because of the over 200 kg weight. The electronic equipment was later installed, and now all four dial plates are connected to the satellite, which automatically corrects even slightest deviations of hands. The old clock mechanism is still preserved as the emergency back-up though. The sound of Ekaterinburg’s chimes is just as powerful as that of the country’s main clock: the equipment for them was purchased from the Kremlin suppliers. The clock chimes every 15 minutes.

 

Address
Lenina, 24A
Telephone
-

Администрация города Екатеринбурга

Здание горсовета построено в 1928-1954 гг., архитекторы Г. А. Голубев и М. В. Рейшер.

На месте здания Администрации города ранее располагался Гостиный двор, сгоревший в 1902 году. Строительство нового завершить не удалось из-за революции. Часть недостроенного Гостиного двора в 1926-1928 годах была встроена в здание Делового дома, которое сегодня примыкает к зданию Администрации со стороны улицы 8 Марта.

В 1928–1930 годах был возведён пятиэтажный корпус здания горсовета. Первый вариант административного здания — тяжеловесный и с чрезмерно большими окнами — не избежал влияния конструктивистской стилистики. Авторы проекта, архитекторы Голубев и Рейшер, тогда были убеждёнными сторонниками этого стиля. Начиная с 1944 года здание горсовета кардинально реконструируется: фасад оформляется колоннами, цокольная часть облицовывается гранитом, по периметру крыши устанавливаются скульптуры М. Д. Новаковского, символизирующие представителей трудовых профессий. А в 1954 году по проекту Рейшера возводится башня со шпилем и часами-курантами. В итоге композиция горсовета приобрела окончательный вид, характерный для стиля сталинской «неоклассики», известного, например, по знаменитым московским высоткам.

В советский период здание занимали городской комитет КПСС и городской совет, а с 1991 года здесь находится Администрация города и Екатеринбургская городская Дума.

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЙ ФАКТ

Говорят, что образец часового механизма для башни горсовета привез в Екатеринбург из Германии маршал Г. К. Жуков. Местные мастера сделали по образцу свои часы и установили на екатеринбургскую ратушу. Установленный почти 60 лет назад часовой механизм ни разу не давал сбоя.

Главные часы Екатеринбурга — самые большие на Урале. Диаметр циферблата — 3,5 метра, длина часовой стрелки — 1,5 метра, минутной — 2 метра. До 2005 года городские ходики заводили два раза в неделю, для этого приходилось прилагать значительные усилия, потому что гиря весила более 200 килограммов. Позднее было закуплено электронное оборудование, теперь все четыре циферблата подключены к спутнику, который и корректирует малейшие отклонения стрелок. А старый часовой механизм «стоит на запасном пути». Екатеринбургские куранты по силе звука не уступают главным часам страны: электронную аппаратуру приобретали у поставщиков аппаратуры кремлёвских курантов. Часы бьют каждые 15 минут. 

 

Адрес
пр. Ленина, 24а
Телефон
-