Famous architect’s private country house was built in 1817 on then outskirts of Ekaterinburg.
At the time of construction Vasentsovskaya (currently Lunacharskogo) Street was the eastern boundary of the city. Architect Mikhail Malakhov designed and built his private country house here in 1817. By 1824 the estate was one of the largest in the city. It consisted of the main house, a courtyard with services, a park with a picturesque pond, and a garden. In the part of the park adjacent to the house, Malakhov retained the natural forest which created a picturesque backdrop for the elegant house resembling Italian countryside villas. Malakhov lived in this house until his death in 1842.
After the revolution the mansion was severely damaged when adjusted to be used as shared apartments. By late 1960s the only remaining structure was the plastered wooden main house. The decaying house was in the way of ongoing Lunacharskogo Street expansion. In 1976-1979 it was decided to honor the prominent architect by reconstructing the building in stone using original layout designs and move it further from the street.
During the reconstruction the building was moved 15 meters to the east and rebuilt entirely in brick (as the architect himself originally planned, but could not afford). Preserved from the original wooden house are the dome crowning the rotunda and some decoration details transferred to the new building.